All the blogs I follow, once in a while, take a reflective step back to comment about blogging or the blogosphere. Here I am doing the same.

This week I had a great discussion with a technology company about the merits of starting a blog for their CEO or a collective blog for the executive team.

We had the classic traditional marketing (control) vs. new marketing (no control) debate. Points discussed included the risk of sending the wrong message; exposure to litigation; discomfort with the fact that, upfront, we wouldn’t know who the readers are; concern about being sucked into a slanderous debate; risk of hacking.

I suggested the following three criteria to decide whether to do it or not:

1. The company accepts that the blog must be from the individual(s)-that it’s not a company blog.

2. The individual(s) is passionate about discussing industry trends

3. The individual(s) will share and discuss their thoughts (aka blog) on their own accord-have the time; wouldn’t need much prodding; would not be expecting to have entries written by ghost writers.

NB: I was asked how many of the top senior executive blogs where ghost written. Without fear of sounding naive, I said I didn’t think any of them were ghost written.

We concluded that, at this time, blogging wasn’t right for the company.

To support the conversation I pulled together some manifestos, pros, cons and ROI frameworks from the likes of Scoble, Seth Godin and Hugh MacLeod which I thought others might find useful. It’s all in a Google Notebook that I made public.

